School of Nursing - Student Handbook 2020 - 2021

School of Nursing Administration

School of Nursing Dean

Michael L. Evans, PhD, RN, NEA-BC, FACHE, FAAN
Dean and Grover E. Murray Professor, UMC Endowed Chair for Excellence in Nursing

Traditional BSN Undergraduate Department

Amanda Veesart, PhD, RN, CNE
Associate Professor, Associate Dean/Department Chair, Traditional BSN Program
Ruth Bargainer, MSN, RN, CNE
Assistant Professor, Regional Program Director, Traditional BSN Program
Ann Hagstrom, EdD, RN, CNE
Assistant Professor, Director of Admissions/Progressions, Traditional BSN Program
Kyle Johnson, PhD, RN, CHSE
Assistant Professor, Clinical and Simulation Director, Traditional BSN Program

Non-Traditional BSN Undergraduate Department

Laura Opton, DHSc, RN, CNE
Professor, Associate Dean/ Department Chair, Non-Traditional Undergraduate Programs
Darlene Lacy, PhD, RN-C, CNE
Associate Professor, RN to BSN Program Director

Irene Salinas, DNP, RN, CNE-cl
Assistant Professor, Accelerated BSN Program Director
Debbie Sikes, DNP, RN, CNE
Associate Professor, Director of Veteran Education Initiatives for Non-Traditional Undergraduate Programs

Graduate Department

Emily Merrill, PhD, APRN, FNP BC, CNE, FAANP
Professor, Associate Dean/Department Chair, APRN (Advanced Practice Registered Nurse) Program
Jeff Watson, DNP, RN, NEA-BC, CNE
Associate Professor, Associate Dean/Department Chair, Leadership Program
Cindy Acton, DNP, RN, NEA-BC
Associate Professor and Director, MSN Nursing Administration Track
Susan McBride, PhD, RN-BC, CPHIMS, FAAN
Professor and Director, MSN Nursing Informatics Track
Laura Thomas, PhD, RN, CNE
Associate Professor and Director, MSN Nursing Education Track
Kellie Bruce, PhD, APRN, FNP-BC
Associate Professor and Program Director, FNP Track
Rebecca H. Burpo, DNP, APRN, CNM, FACNM
Associate Professor and Program Director, Nurse-Midwifery Track
Susan J. Calloway, PhD, FNP-BC, PMHNP-BC, FAANP
Professor and Program Director, Psychiatric Mental Health Track
Karen Esquibel, PhD, APRN, CPNP-PC
Associate Professor and Program Director, Pediatric Nurse Practitioner (Primary and Acute Care) Tracks
Tara Hilliard, PhD, APRN, ACNP-BC
Assistant Professor and Program Director, Adult-Gerontology Acute Care NP Track
Lisa Campbell, PhD, RN, ACNP-BC
Professor and Director, Post-Master's DNP Program

Regional Administration

Sharon Cannon, EdD, RN, ANEF
Professor and Regional Dean, Odessa,
Medical Center Hospital Endowed Chair and Co-Director for the TTUHSC Center of Excellence in Evidence-Based Practice, University Distinguished Professor
Pearl Merritt, EdD, MSN, RN, FAAN
Professor and Regional Dean, Abilene,
University Distinguished Professor, and Regional Director for the Laura Bush Institute

Academic Services

Alyce Ashcraft, PhD, RN, CNE, ANEF
Associate Dean for Research and Scholarship
Barbara Cherry, DNSc, MBA, RN, NEA-BC
Associate Dean for Strategic Partnerships
Yondell Masten, PhD, WHNP-BC, RNC-OB
Associate Dean, Outcomes Management and Evaluation
Linda McMurry, DNP, RN, NEA-BC
Associate Dean, Clinical Services and Community Engagement

Business and Finance

Linda Lane
Assistant Dean, Business and Finance